Protect Women at the Women's Health Center in Charleston WV

Patients at the Womens Health Center and other healthcare facilities in Charleston city limits need your help with privacy and accessibility.

Councilwoman Caitlin Cook introduced an ordinance that protects patients entering a healthcare facility from being harassed while entering and exiting, ensuring a right to privacy. If you haven't been following, protests at the Women's Health Center of West Virginia twice a week often turn into harassment of the patients and staff. The ordinance protects the First Amendment right to protest ensuring their safety as well.

The bill passed the Rules Committee last night with a 6-1 vote and goes to the full council on Monday.

We need your SUPPORT on Monday at the Charleston City Council meeting on at 7 pm at Charleston City Hall.

WHAT CAN YOU DO TO HELP?

  • Show up at Council on Monday. 7:00 PM at Charleston City Hall

  • THANK the Council people who voted YES to pass the bill out of committee

  • KINDLY URGE the full Charleston City Council to pass the bill. Call or email them. They are normal people and want to hear from their constituents or people who love our city. Personalized messages are extremely effective. Tell the council people WHY patients access to all healthcare and a right to privacy is important to you. (CONTACT INFO IS BELOW)

  • Share the graphics below on your social media pages!

Say Thanks To:

Caitlin Cook caitlin.cook@cityofcharleston.org

Bobby Haas bobbyhaas1586@yahoo.com 

Chuck Overstreet covers6053@aol.com 

Tiffany Wesley Plear tiffany.wesley-plear@cityofcharleston.org 

Jeanine Faegre faegre@hotmail.com 

Keeley Steele ward10@repairwv.com  

Say Please Reconsider to the one CouncilPerson who voted NO on the ordinance:

Courtney Persinger courtney.c.persinger@gmail.com 

Urge these Councilpeople to vote yes on the ordinance:

Pat Jones  pj1council@yahoo.com  

Deanna McKinney councilwomanmckinney@gmail.com 

Adam Knauff adamknauff@hotmail.com 

Robert Sheets (304) 346-1319

Mary Beth Hoover hoovermb74@hotmail.com 

Shannon Snodgrass snodgrassshannon@aol.com 

Joseph Jenkins joseph.jenkins@cityofcharleston.org  

Brent Burton brent@ciswv.com 

Sam Minardi sam.minardi@gmail.com 

Robert Reishman robert@reishman.com 

Bruce King bruce.king@cityofcharleston.org 

Will Laird will.laird@cityofcharleston.org 

Brady Campbell brady.campbell@cityofcharleston.org 

Chad Robinson chad.robinson@cityofcharleston.org 

Ben Adams ben.adams@cityofcharleston.org 

Becky Ceperley ceperleyb@gmail.com 

Naomi Bays naomi.bays@cityofcharleston.org 

Jennifer Pharr jennifer.pharr@cityofcharleston.org

John Kennedy Bailey jkbailey@jkbailey.com

Copy of wednesday may 29.png
join us monday june 3 at charleston city council.png

Thanks y’all for your support with this. The Womens Health Center, its staff, volunteers, and patients mean the world to us and have personally saved our lives with their healthcare over the past few decades. We want to protect all patients and protestors alike.